Doctor Profile

Doctor Profile Image

Chairman & CEO

Pioneer of Cardiac Surgery in India

  • Speciality Cardiac Surgery
  • Education M.S., F.R.A.C.S., D.Sc(Hon), D.Sc(HC)., D.Sc(CHC)

Padmashree Dr. K.M. CHERIAN

Chairman & CEO

Dr. K. M.Cherian is a world renowned and distinguished Cardiac Surgeon. He started his career in Christian Medical College Hospital, in Vellore as lecturer in Surgery. He did his FRACS in Cardiothoracic Surgery in 1973, while being a migrant in Australia. He worked in New Zealand and was also a migrant to The United States. He worked as a Special Fellow in Paediatric Cardiac Surgery in Birmingham, Alabama under Dr. John W. Kirklin and in the University of Oregon under Dr. Albert Starr. He is an honourable Prof at the Yangzhou University, China.

He performed India’s first successful Coronary Artery bypass surgery in 1975. He also performed the country’s first heart transplant after legalization of brain death. The first Heart- Lung Transplant, the first Paediatric Transplant and the first TMR (Laser Heart Surgery) were also performed by him.

He is the recipient of the prestigious Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) degree awarded by King George's Medical University, Lucknow. He was awarded Padma Shri by the Government of India in 1991. DR.K.M.Cherian was honorary surgeon to the President of India from 1990 to 1993. He received a Wockhardt Medical Excellence Award in 2005, through a panel organised by Harvard Medical School. Dr Cherian is the only one from India selected for the unique honour of having his name inscribed in stone during the recent World Congress conducted by the World Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons (WSCTS) on the Island of KOS, Greece.

He is the first Indian to become the President of the World Congress of Thoracic Cardiac Surgeon and the first member of the American Association of Thoracic Surgery from India. He was the Founding Vice President and Director of Madras Medical Mission (MMM), Founding Chairman of Pondicherry Institute of Medical Sciences(PIMS). He is the Founder Chairman of Frontier Lifeline Hospital and Frontier Mediville, the first Medical SEZ and Medical Science Park in India. His Charitable Trust has built the St Gregorios Cardio Vascular Centre, at Parumala, in Kerala and his Educational Trust runs the International CBSE School named “The Study - L'ecole International” at Puducherry.



  • 1990-93 - Honorary Surgeon to the President of India.
  • 2003 - Recipient of Hon.Degree, DOCTOR OF SCIENCE (Honoris Causa) conferred by King George’s Medical University, Lucknow.
  • 2007 - The First and the only Indian’s name engraved in one of the stones in Kos Island, Greece, the birth place of the medical professional, Hippocrates,

    the “Father of Medicine”, on the occasion of World Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons held between 30th April – 3rd May.

  • 2008 - The first INDIAN elected as the president of the World Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons for the year 2010-11.


  • Chairman of Indian Association of Laser Surgery & Medicine.
  • President of the Paediatric Cardiac Society of India.
  • Past Secretary of the Association of Cardio-Thoracic & Vascular Surgeons of India – 1992.
  • Past Secretary of the Indian Association of Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgeons – 1993-94.
  • The First and only Indian Member of the American Asscn. for Thoracic Surgery.
  • Hon. Membership of the Malaysian Association for Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery - 2006.
  • Fellow of The American College of Chest Physicians.
  • Fellow of Royal Society of Medicine (London).
  • Member of Society of Thoracic Surgeons.
  • Member of International Society for Heart & Lung Transplantation.
  • Member of The International Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons.
  • Member of the European Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons.
  • Member of the New York Academy of Sciences.
  • Member of ISCTS – The World Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons.
  • Member of the Australasian Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons.
  • Council Member of the Association of Thoracic & Cardio-vascular Surgeons of Asia.
  • Intl. Editorial Board Member of the Asian Cardiovasc. & Thoracic Annals.
  • Member of the Confederation of Indian Industry – Health Division.


1984- 86
  • For Outstanding Service – Ministry of Railways (Twice)
  • Recipient of Madras Rotary Club’s FOR THE SAKE OF HONOUR AWARD.
  • Recipient of MELVIN JONES AWARD presented by Lions Club of Madras Chairman of Indian Association of Laser Surgery & Medicine..
  • 1987
  • Recipient of first INDO AUSTRALIAN AWARD.
  • 1991
  • Recipient of Govt. of India’s PADMASHRI AWARD.
  • 1999
  • Recipient of CATHOLICATE AWARD in recognition of Outstanding Services to humanity.
  • 2001
  • Recipient of MEDICAL EXCELLENCE AWARD by Limca Book of Records.
  • 2005
  • Received the INTERNATIONAL MEDICAL EXCELLENCE AWARD by the Harvard Medical International.
  • Conferred with MARUTHUVA MAAMANI by the Indian Medical Association.
  • Received the LIFE TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD by the Paed. Card. Society of India.
  • Received the LIFE TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD by the Governor of Kerala.
  • 2006
  • Recipient of the AWARD OF EXCELLENCE IN HEALTHCARE by the World Fedn. of Tamil Youth Inc.
  • Recipient of the EXCELLENCE AWARD FOR HUMAN CARE-MEDI CAL by The Lions Club.
  • Recipient of the RAJIV GANDHI MOOPANAR AWARD for excellence in Cardiac Surgery.
  • 2007
  • Recipient of the OUTSTANDING PERSON OF THE YEAR AWARD by Kurnool Heart Foundation, Kurnool.
  • Recipient of the SERVICE ABOVE SELF AWARD by the Rotary Club of Alleppey.
  • 2008
  • Recipient of the SOUTH INDIAN BANK EXCELLENCE AWARD by South Indian Bank.
  • PRESIDENT ELECT for the XX World Society of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons
  • 2010
  • Recipient of the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD by The Indian Association of Cardio Thoracic Surgeons.
  • Recipient of the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD by The Rotary Club of Koodal, Trivandrum.
  • Recipient of the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMNT AWARD by The Kasturba Medical College Associates.
  • Recipient of EXCELLENCE IN HEALTHCARE award by FICCI and Times of India.